BRIEF: ASU political affairs commissioner to serve as chair of Elections Committee

Luoi Sabha now supervises the entire election process.

ASU Commissioner of Political Affairs Luoi Sabha will be the chair of the Elections Committee for the 2021-2022 ASU Executive Council elections, taking over from Treasurer Erica Fletcher.

As of March 23, Sabha oversees all aspects of the election, like voting initiatives and enforcing the college election code — which will be announced at a mandatory April 2 meeting for eligible candidates. Sabha failed to submit an application to run for office by the March 22 deadline.

The Elections Committee settles candidate disputes, maintaining impartiality by consisting of council members not seeking reelection. Fletcher assumed the role of chair in January before Sabha was appointed to the council. According to Fletcher, she will be ineligible to serve in the fall due to insufficient semester hours as determined by the ASU Constitution. Fletcher will remain on the committee as a member.

President Farouk Ajibola reminded Sabha he can seek an appointment in the fall, joining the board by the same method he did this spring. Sabha said he will consider applying based on the available positions.

Candidates for the 2021-2022 ASU Executive Council start campaigning on April 3. The candidates forum will be held virtually on April 21 at 1 p.m. and students will be able vote from April 26-30. All details are to be announced at a later date.

Jack Kelly

#ASU #LuoiSabha #EricaFletcher #FaroukAjibola #ASUElections #News